Golf Major Tournaments

The Major is for golf what Roland Garros is for tennis. One of the most important golf events of the year. There are four among men, and five among women.

Golf Major Tournaments for Men

The first to play is the Masters, the second weekend of April, in Augusta (Georgia, USA). Then comes the US Open, which is played on the third weekend of June, on a different course in the United States. The only major to be held in Europe is the British Open or “The Open” on the third Thursday of July, with a rotation of several host clubs. And finally, the PGA Championship closed the list of Majors until 2018, usually played the first weekend of August. But in 2019 it was shifted to the third weekend of May following the integration of the Olympic tournament in the calendar for 2020.

This men’s tournament, created in 1916, is organized by the American professional golfers Association, PGA of America.

The first winner in 1916, Jim Barnes, had received the equivalent of 500 dollars, and Tiger Woods, the winner in 2006, received over a million dollars.

Tiger has won four times, at the time he was invincible on the greens, in 1999, 2000, 2006, and 2007. And it is the Americans who won this trophy in the overwhelming majority of cases. The last three winners are American: Brooks Koepla, in 2018, Justin Thomas, in 2017, Jimmy Walker, in 20016.

The last European to lift the cup was in 2014, Rory McIlroy of Northern Ireland. More surprisingly, in 2009, the winner was a South Korean, Yong-Eun Yang, in 1998 and 2004, a Fijian, Vijay Singh. After the US Open on June 13th at the Pebble Beach Golf Links in California, the British Open will close the circuit on July 18th at the Royal Portrush Golf Club in Northern Ireland.

The oldest of these tournaments is the British Open created in 1860. The reigning champion is Francesco Molinari, who at the same time became the first Italian player to win a Major. The US Open saw its first edition in 1895. Since then, in 114 tournaments, 81 victories have been American. The two-time winner of the event is Floridian Brooks Koepka, who also holds the title of the US PGA Championship launched in 1916. It was in 1934 that the Masters played for the first time. It still takes place at the Augusta National Golf Club, Georgia. Patrick Reed won it last year.

As in tennis, it is said that a golfer realizes the grand slam when he wins the four majors in one year. No player in the modern era has succeeded. Tiger Woods has, in his prime, managed to win these four big tournaments in a row, but over two years. Before the first edition of the Masters, only Bobby Jones had achieved the feat of achieving the grand slam in 1930. Indeed, at the time, the British Open and the US Open were already in major tournaments, with the championships amateur golf from Britain and the United States.

Major Women’s Golf Tournaments

Since 2013, the Ladies Professional Golf Association (LPGA) has recognized five major component tournaments: the ANA Inspiration, the KPMG Championship, the US Open, the British Open and The Evian Championship.